Official IS300 Cam/Head Thread - Page 4 - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #46 of 88 (permalink) Old 12-05-2013, 03:55 PM
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: delaware
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
           
There new coppers on my new motor couldn't find ik22s local and wanted to get it goin last week. But I'll update whenever I change them out
polish man is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #47 of 88 (permalink) Old 12-07-2013, 05:33 PM
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
           
Garage
Yes i got full stock exhaust other than headers.

I already have wheels and good street Nitto tires.

True, coilovers are not everything in a suspension. I did change some of the bushings though (control arms bushings , ball joints), but the suggestion of sway bars definitely sound good to me.

I am still doing some research on the 80mm tb (welding, check engine light, who can do the labor for me here in Florida and other things to consider/understand before i do it). Any good input or where to read about a complete 80mm tb install would help.
And last pulleys also sound good to me (except for the crank pulley, did some research and heard bad things about crank pulley unless is the fluidampr which is as heavy as the oem).

Thanks for the suggestion guys!
Appreciate it.
franco305 is offline  
post #48 of 88 (permalink) Old 12-11-2013, 08:19 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Right now I have Intake and headers w/ y-pipe and SAFC-II when I get the cams will I have to retune the SAFC?
James3 is offline  
 
post #49 of 88 (permalink) Old 12-11-2013, 08:33 AM Thread Starter
Guru
 
Bezik777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ILLinoiS
Posts: 9,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
           
Garage
Franco,
Id like to keep thread on topic but sways and rigid bars would be great adds, there's a couple 80mm TB threads on my.is ( there's no check engine light with this mod) and pulleys are nice add to help throttle response ( URs are nice) yes don't run crank under drive pulley...
* I've done all these mods*

Quote:
Originally Posted by James3 View Post
Right now I have Intake and headers w/ y-pipe and SAFC-II when I get the cams will I have to retune the SAFC?
Yes...retune to take full advantage of cams

Support The Troops - OIF Veteran - SSG of Soldiers - AND PROUD OF IT

-Boosted-
-JCE10 Midwest-
___Go Fast or F*** It___
Bezik777 is offline  
post #50 of 88 (permalink) Old 12-16-2013, 01:24 PM
Follower
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
           
Ordered my timing belt kit today and said WHAT THE HELL i might as well do some cams! cant wait to get my 264's!
IS-ZERO is offline  
post #51 of 88 (permalink) Old 12-19-2013, 05:37 PM Thread Starter
Guru
 
Bezik777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ILLinoiS
Posts: 9,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
           
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by IS-ZERO View Post
Ordered my timing belt kit today and said WHAT THE HELL i might as well do some cams! cant wait to get my 264's!
Very nice!

Support The Troops - OIF Veteran - SSG of Soldiers - AND PROUD OF IT

-Boosted-
-JCE10 Midwest-
___Go Fast or F*** It___
Bezik777 is offline  
post #52 of 88 (permalink) Old 12-30-2013, 08:31 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
Hey guys, I am going to be getting the BC stage 2 cams and cam gear done also. I however have stock headers and exhaust which I do not want to change. Anyone know if there are any cons to this set up? I really do to not want to increase the noise level of the exhaust...I am not a fan of noisy exhaust on non muscle cars.
LxBeef is offline  
post #53 of 88 (permalink) Old 12-31-2013, 08:08 AM Thread Starter
Guru
 
Bezik777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ILLinoiS
Posts: 9,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
           
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by LxBeef View Post
Hey guys, I am going to be getting the BC stage 2 cams and cam gear done also. I however have stock headers and exhaust which I do not want to change. Anyone know if there are any cons to this set up? I really do to not want to increase the noise level of the exhaust...I am not a fan of noisy exhaust on non muscle cars.
Nope no cons, cams will still make a difference ... Exhaust is just a few extra HP if anything you will retain more lower Torq ..

Support The Troops - OIF Veteran - SSG of Soldiers - AND PROUD OF IT

-Boosted-
-JCE10 Midwest-
___Go Fast or F*** It___
Bezik777 is offline  
post #54 of 88 (permalink) Old 12-31-2013, 04:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bezik777 View Post
Nope no cons, cams will still make a difference ... Exhaust is just a few extra HP if anything you will retain more lower Torq ..
Thanks Bezik!
LxBeef is offline  
post #55 of 88 (permalink) Old 01-02-2014, 09:24 AM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: staven, CT
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
I'm in the process of building my extra head with all BC parts. As far as cams, ive been looking at the 264's. While researching, i keep reading that stock cams are better for FI cars than going higher duration. any thoughts??

setup is: gte block,gte HG(although want to change back to ge HG) stock head for now/80mm throttle body/water meth/
garrett gtx3076r/93 pump gas/greddy eman ult

02 MSM/gte/ Garrett GTX3076R
MikeNice is offline  
post #56 of 88 (permalink) Old 01-03-2014, 01:32 AM Thread Starter
Guru
 
Bezik777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ILLinoiS
Posts: 9,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
           
Garage
You've been misinformed ... 264s love boost and out perform stock any day...

Support The Troops - OIF Veteran - SSG of Soldiers - AND PROUD OF IT

-Boosted-
-JCE10 Midwest-
___Go Fast or F*** It___
Bezik777 is offline  
post #57 of 88 (permalink) Old 01-09-2014, 06:50 PM
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
           
Garage
Thanks Bezik, I found some good info on the 80mm tb without throwing a check engine light (check engine light was due to something else leak i believe).
So back to the topic.... a different engine noise after installing the cams is normal right? It's hard to describe the new noise,let's say is a little louder on the exhaust side, but just to make sure when re-shimming the valve clearance it had to be adjusted to the tight side of the OEM specs right? That will be intake 0.006" and exhaust 0.010"

Last edited by franco305; 01-09-2014 at 07:07 PM.
franco305 is offline  
post #58 of 88 (permalink) Old 02-04-2014, 09:47 AM
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Nice thread good info for us Vvti/NA-T guys.

98 VVTi SC300,Wet 100 Shot of NOS,Front LS400 BBK Calipers painted gold,Goodridge stainless steel braided brake lines,Blacken Emblems,Polished Intake,Tanabe Springs,8k Hid's 6k fogs,Tranny cooler w/fan,EXE Konvex Front 19x8.5,Rear 19x9.5.
14.1@96mph on NOS
NA-T-4" intake,Borg Warner 83-75,Stainless steel manifold,Tial 38mm WG,2 Blitz BOV,Aeromotive FPR,850cc,Twin in tank Walbro fuel pump,FFIM,AEM standalone,Aem Wideband,HKS Cam Gear,Blitz SBC i-D boost Controller(Need to Tune)
98$c300vvti is offline  
post #59 of 88 (permalink) Old 02-05-2014, 11:48 AM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
           
Seems the cams give more torque and pop and overall more fun to drive factor for our cars...but I read that mpg gets cut to about 14-15 mpg? Is that true? Id like more input from folks who already have this setup..thanks!
Rayson is offline  
post #60 of 88 (permalink) Old 02-05-2014, 12:31 PM
Follower
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
           
after getting them installed and dyno'ed they gave gains of 11+whp on e-shift

dunno about MPG, but after 2 weeks of them it seems similar
lazyIS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > 1st-Gen IS300 > Go Fast Stuff

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Current users viewing this Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome