BRX/FRS diff the same as IS300? - Page 5 - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

 48Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #61 of 184 (permalink) Old 10-15-2015, 01:05 PM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesM View Post
What ratio is the diff?
should be 4.1
tvl3rd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 184 (permalink) Old 10-15-2015, 01:06 PM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by White2003Lexus View Post
I'm excited to see some video's!
i do have a set of worn out winter tires that need to be replaced anyway
tvl3rd is offline  
post #63 of 184 (permalink) Old 10-15-2015, 05:32 PM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: SoCal
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
           
Don't believe they came 4.1. Thought. Wen I read everything they had a low 3.x something. 4.4 & 4.6 ratios.
JamesM is offline  
 
post #64 of 184 (permalink) Old 10-16-2015, 07:05 AM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesM View Post
Don't believe they came 4.1. Thought. Wen I read everything they had a low 3.x something. 4.4 & 4.6 ratios.
my googling tells me the rear diff in the manual's came with a 4.1
tvl3rd is offline  
post #65 of 184 (permalink) Old 10-16-2015, 04:46 PM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: SoCal
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvl3rd View Post
my googling tells me the rear diff in the manual's came with a 4.1
Yup, guess I didn't read enough. I read the 4.3s and 4.56 & 3.91s. There's also the 4.1 & a 3.58 & 3.71.
JamesM is offline  
post #66 of 184 (permalink) Old 10-20-2015, 04:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Converse, Tex-ass
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
 
do it!

yes i have done it and i have drifted, donuts everywhere basically smashed the gas on the street, burnouts etc etc.. still holdin up strong. Also you get more punch at take off good when u mash the gas. With new headers you should get even more torque. feels good and like james said just find some spacers if u dont feel like pushin the bush! I just changed pumpkins kept old seals no leaks. pretty decent upgrade in traffic lights heheheh oh yeah and gear ratio is 4.1. If you have any questions hit me up!
lexpanic is offline  
post #67 of 184 (permalink) Old 11-11-2015, 02:42 PM
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
           
If I get just the pumpkin, will it be any more difficult to install than if the axle flanges are already there?
I'm not sure if I am asking clearly, but in this picture the one on the left (BRZ) is just the pumpkin and the one on the right has the flanges I am talking about.
Does it matter?



Edit: I'm not seeing any BRZ diffs with the flanges. So we just slide in our existing axles?

Last edited by Land Ark; 11-11-2015 at 04:32 PM.
Land Ark is offline  
post #68 of 184 (permalink) Old 11-13-2015, 09:04 AM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Land Ark View Post
Edit: I'm not seeing any BRZ diffs with the flanges. So we just slide in our existing axles?
yes you swap the axle stubs over from the IS diff. The brz doesnt use them and their axles go right in.
tvl3rd is offline  
post #69 of 184 (permalink) Old 11-13-2015, 09:06 AM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
           
Finally installing this next saturday. will update when its complete. I may swing by toyota and see how much their front bolts cost and buy them just to see if thats a solution to the bushings being smaller. Figure may as well have a couple options on hand and it'd be nice to know for anyone that does this in the future.
tvl3rd is offline  
post #70 of 184 (permalink) Old 11-13-2015, 09:13 AM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
           
How do our cars calculate speed? Specifically an eshift model since thats what I have. Trying to determine if my speedo will be off an by how much
tvl3rd is offline  
post #71 of 184 (permalink) Old 11-13-2015, 09:23 AM
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvl3rd View Post
How do our cars calculate speed? Specifically an eshift model since thats what I have. Trying to determine if my speedo will be off an by how much

If your car is an automatic, the speed is determined by the ABS speed sensors at the wheels. But if it's a manual, then the speed is measured by the speed sensor on the transmission.

If you put on a different final gear ratio on an automatic it won't affect your speedo, but if you're going to put it on a manual then you need to do the ABS speedo fix on your car so your speedo won't be off.
blkdout likes this.
unretrofied is offline  
post #72 of 184 (permalink) Old 11-13-2015, 10:21 AM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by unretrofied View Post
If your car is an automatic, the speed is determined by the ABS speed sensors at the wheels. But if it's a manual, then the speed is measured by the speed sensor on the transmission.

If you put on a different final gear ratio on an automatic it won't affect your speedo, but if you're going to put it on a manual then you need to do the ABS speedo fix on your car so your speedo won't be off.
Awesome thanks! Im auto so should be good to go
tvl3rd is offline  
post #73 of 184 (permalink) Old 11-13-2015, 03:03 PM
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,057
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
           
I just ordered a diff from a BRZ and some bolts from Lexus. Hopefully have this bad boy in next weekend too. 😬

01 IS300 - MSM - 185k mile high club

Currently in: snow mode

BRZ Differential w/ 4.1 -- K&N FIPK Intake -- CXRacing Coilovers -- IS350 Wheels -- Greddy Lip [RIP :(]

Hotchkis Sways -- Megan Racing Y-Pipe -- Spec-d Catback (for now)

"Gotta work on the nut behind the wheel before you start fixing bolts on the car"
therock0720 is offline  
post #74 of 184 (permalink) Old 11-14-2015, 03:17 PM
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvl3rd View Post
yes you swap the axle stubs over from the IS diff. The brz doesnt use them and their axles go right in.
Thanks for the response.

Please post pics of it installed. I'm likely ordering a diff on Monday and would love to see yours.
Land Ark is offline  
post #75 of 184 (permalink) Old 11-17-2015, 07:57 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Converse, Tex-ass
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
 
Awesome!!

I can't wait to see how other people install theirs. In hindsight I wish i could have seen if the is300 diff bushings could go into the frs diff but winter is coming round I plan on replacing all my bushings in the front end anyways with poly urethane might do the diff too when i am under there @ land ark just the frs diff should come with no axel stubs you may need new seals depends where you get your diff from. the axel stubs from our diff spline right in i hammered mine in with a dead blow not recommened maybe you can take it a shop and have them press them in.

Last edited by lexpanic; 11-17-2015 at 08:03 AM.
lexpanic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > 1st-Gen IS300 > Go Fast Stuff

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Current users viewing this Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome