2001 IS300 (02 sensor bank 1 sensor 2) code - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-25-2010, 01:16 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
2001 IS300 (02 sensor bank 1 sensor 2) code

i keep on having the code pop up for this it says the heater is malfunctioning i have checked the ohm loads on the heater itself and they are good it also says to make sure that the wires from the ecu arent loose where is the ecu located?
skata94 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-25-2010, 07:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I think its underneath one of your seats but its a pain to get too
You oughta just replace the sensor my car was doing the same thing but i had to replace 3 of them. If you just keep driving it like that then it eill mess up your Catalatyc converters and you dont wanna know the price tag on that

Good luck but the good news is thats probably the easiest one to get to
seewtIS67 is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-25-2010, 12:17 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
thanks man
skata94 is offline  
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-25-2010, 12:26 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
the ecu isnt under the seats does anyone else know where it is my check engine light doesnt go off all the time jus at random times
skata94 is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-26-2010, 04:23 PM
Immortal
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pittsbugh PA
Posts: 19,387
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
           
sensor

Bank 1 sensor 2 is under the hood.it is the closest pipe to the hood but after the cat.I have had ohm readings on the heater circuit be close..but CEL still told me it was open.mabe it opens when it tries to heat up.anyway...I had a very similar weird problem..replaced the sensor..and went away after resetting.I kinda doubt the ECU port is the cause.
jasonm4 is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-27-2010, 11:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
here ya go
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Lexus is300 - parts.pdf - Adobe Reader.jpg
Views:	16770
Size:	531.8 KB
ID:	26844  
seewtIS67 is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-27-2010, 11:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
here's another
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	is300_repair_manual0161.jpg
Views:	11612
Size:	103.6 KB
ID:	26845  
seewtIS67 is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-27-2010, 12:00 PM
Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Les Engalos
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonm4444 View Post
Bank 1 sensor 2 is under the hood.it is the closest pipe to the hood but after the cat.I have had ohm readings on the heater circuit be close..but CEL still told me it was open.mabe it opens when it tries to heat up.anyway...I had a very similar weird problem..replaced the sensor..and went away after resetting.I kinda doubt the ECU port is the cause.

Interesting.

I'm getting the same code but the sensor shows voltage.



Just ordered one. We'll see if it fixes or not...

Extraneous CF bits, blue LEDs, & egregious body kit FIRST!!!
jollibee jiant is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-27-2010, 12:25 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sugar Land (Houston), Tx
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
This happened to me once or twice, I can't recall. I just unplugged it, reset my ECU, Waited a while(I was busy at the time) And plugged it back in and no signs of it returning. Best of Luck.

01 e-shift---[AEM short ram intake][Apex-i full cat-back exhaust][HKS Exhaust came gear][Mazzuri V1 Headers and Y-pipe]
dorkyaznguy is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-27-2010, 12:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I would really just replace it if you could. Cause if you arent having any other serious problems then i wouldnt go messing with your ECU
Bosch website is really resonable
Heres a tip print out the bosch website prices and warranty and take that to where ever you get your parts from cause the bosch website i found out is about $40-$60 cheaper
seewtIS67 is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-29-2010, 09:51 AM
Immortal
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pittsbugh PA
Posts: 19,387
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
           
o2 sensors

You can reset your ECU...and it may clear...for a bit...but will always come back on. The heaters either fail or they don't. If this code comes up...and is not the wiring....you will have to replace it. Let us know what happens;
jasonm4 is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-01-2010, 03:25 PM
Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Les Engalos
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
I received the sensor yesterday, replaced it today, drove around 30 miles and the light didn't come back on.

Sucks because I specifically bought a reader that would display O2 sensor data because I know how often an O2 CEL equates to a cry of wolf. But whatever, I'm glad it's fixed.


Densos are cheap at Amazon, btw. Universals are $40 and direct fits are $90.

Extraneous CF bits, blue LEDs, & egregious body kit FIRST!!!
jollibee jiant is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-07-2014, 05:03 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
is300 o2 problems

okay so my 2002 is300 is showing that i need to replace
bank1 sensor 2
bank2 sensor 2

can anyone find the specific part codes to these?
columdoyle is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-07-2014, 05:38 AM
Immortal
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pittsbugh PA
Posts: 19,387
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
           
jasonm4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > 1st-Gen IS300 > General Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Current users viewing this Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome