Dezod AEM V2 Wasted Spark to COP - Page 3 - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #31 of 126 (permalink) Old 11-18-2013, 09:08 AM Thread Starter
Supporting Vendor
 
Dezod Motorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: GA
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
           
Dezod Motorsports is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 126 (permalink) Old 11-25-2013, 12:05 AM
Extremist
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wiscansin
Posts: 4,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
           
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dezod Motorsports View Post
Have your tried it Donnie?
No I have not, I have been busy with work and assembling 2 race cars and redoing mine from the frame up. My winter looks busy but I will try to find time for it!

___Go Fast or F*** It___

Im your local smarta$$
leonard_is300 is offline  
post #33 of 126 (permalink) Old 04-03-2014, 05:38 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
           
Maybe I can get some help here:
So, I just did the swap from TT coils to LQ9.
I followed the instructions given by Dezod.
-Wired 3 new wires to AEM box for coil 4, 7, 8
-Changed coils in coil wizard to LQ9
-Changed the coil output to 1-8A as well as phasing

I have good grounds, 12V to the coils.
Now the car is cranking, it fires but the order seems bad. I have backfires and clearly there is something wrong.

What am I doing wrong??
Max 1.6 is offline  
 
post #34 of 126 (permalink) Old 04-03-2014, 08:59 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
           
What is your coil phasing?

Can you screen shot that screen?

Why coil 7 and 8? we are talking 2jz here, correct? It should be coils 1-6, not 1-8, or was that a typo?
mitsuguy is offline  
post #35 of 126 (permalink) Old 04-03-2014, 09:02 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
           
Coil phasing is:
Coil 1 - Ph 0
Coil 2 - Ph 16
Coil 3 - Ph 8
Coil 4 - Ph 20
Coil 5 - Ph 4
Coil 6 - Ph 12

Right now I changed my phasing cause it was off, then I have no fire at all except 1 major backfire at the end of cranking (5 sec)

I use coil 7 and 8 because 5-6 already taken in V2 kit from dezod
Max 1.6 is offline  
post #36 of 126 (permalink) Old 04-03-2014, 09:17 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
           
Alright, so that is correct, so long as it is wired correctly then... What is your ignition sync number at??? Wizards > ignition sync wizard, then click advanced options
mitsuguy is offline  
post #37 of 126 (permalink) Old 04-03-2014, 09:19 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
           
ignition sync : 3 teeth
pickup delay : 130
Max 1.6 is offline  
post #38 of 126 (permalink) Old 04-03-2014, 09:21 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
           
Wait, quick observation... Coil 1, 2 and 3 are no longer 1, 2 and 3...

They are technically coils 2, 4 and 6 now unless you rewired the whole entire thing...
mitsuguy is offline  
post #39 of 126 (permalink) Old 04-03-2014, 09:25 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
           
Also, 2.523 is the default, though it can be moved one way or the other, as necessary... Thats one of those set and forget and I don't remember how far off 3 would actually be... I think it would still start though...
mitsuguy is offline  
post #40 of 126 (permalink) Old 04-03-2014, 09:25 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
           
What I did exactly:
Pulled the igniter, then cut the 3 ecu signals. Wired them into coil 1, 2 and 3
After I wired 3 new wires to the AEM box for coil 4, 5 and 6
Max 1.6 is offline  
post #41 of 126 (permalink) Old 04-03-2014, 09:28 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
           
Did you cut the right side of the igniter wires?
mitsuguy is offline  
post #42 of 126 (permalink) Old 04-03-2014, 09:30 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
           
Yes, I verified that I have connection between new coils and AEM box for the 6 channels.
Max 1.6 is offline  
post #43 of 126 (permalink) Old 04-03-2014, 09:37 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
           
Try the default setting of 2.523 and see if it makes any difference, if not, kinda stumped... changing mine was very straight forward, though I ran a whole harness back to the AEM instead of tying in to the factory stuff...
mitsuguy is offline  
post #44 of 126 (permalink) Old 04-04-2014, 09:16 AM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
           
Problem solved, it was really a question of phasing.
My phasing is now:
Coil 1 - Ph 12
Coil 2 - Ph 4
Coil 3 - Ph 20
Coil 4 - Ph 8
Coil 5 - Ph 16
Coil 6 - Ph 0

Each coil is wired at the same cylinder number. Car is now idling just like it was before.
Max 1.6 is offline  
post #45 of 126 (permalink) Old 04-04-2014, 10:03 AM Thread Starter
Supporting Vendor
 
Dezod Motorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: GA
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Max 1.6 View Post
Problem solved, it was really a question of phasing.
My phasing is now:
Coil 1 - Ph 12
Coil 2 - Ph 4
Coil 3 - Ph 20
Coil 4 - Ph 8
Coil 5 - Ph 16
Coil 6 - Ph 0

Each coil is wired at the same cylinder number. Car is now idling just like it was before.
Glad to hear you have it figured out. Ensure you have the coil wizard set right and proper coil dwell too
Dezod Motorsports is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > Supporting Vendors > Dezod Motorsports

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Current users viewing this Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome