Dezod AEM EMS V2 FAQ, Service & Tech Thread - Page 3 - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #31 of 193 (permalink) Old 01-19-2012, 08:29 AM Thread Starter
Supporting Vendor
 
Dezod Motorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: GA
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
           
Dezod Motorsports is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 193 (permalink) Old 01-23-2012, 06:24 PM
Follower
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dezod Motorsports View Post
EVAP Purge is still controlled by the factory ECU, FYI
Thanks Paul!
I did a little searching and they do leave it connected. As far as the hose that went to the airbox they either just let it vent to atmosphere or just plumbed it back into the turbo intake pipe. The hose going to the tank stays intact.

On to another topic. I was surfing the go faster section and I came across this thread:
easy MAF clamp for standalone users
Is this something that even Dezod AEM users will need to worry about?

2001 Lexus IS300- R154 w/LSD-2JZGTE VVTI-GT3788R (In the works!)
2012 Lexus CT200H F Sport

Last edited by DC5ROY; 01-24-2012 at 05:11 AM.
DC5ROY is offline  
post #33 of 193 (permalink) Old 01-24-2012, 07:20 AM Thread Starter
Supporting Vendor
 
Dezod Motorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: GA
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by DC5ROY View Post
Thanks Paul!
I did a little searching and they do leave it connected. As far as the hose that went to the airbox they either just let it vent to atmosphere or just plumbed it back into the turbo intake pipe. The hose going to the tank stays intact.

On to another topic. I was surfing the go faster section and I came across this thread:
easy MAF clamp for standalone users
Is this something that even Dezod AEM users will need to worry about?
Well that depends on the end users setup. Every IS300 I have seen is so drastically different than the next, so I it would depend on the setup as a whole if it will play a major factor.
Dezod Motorsports is offline  
 
post #34 of 193 (permalink) Old 01-24-2012, 12:10 PM
Follower
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
I'm just concerned because I had never heard about this in the past. I understand that the MAF is there to control tranny shift points, IAT and other things, but I never knew it was still had the ability to start closing the TB and effect cam timing when the MAF was maxing out. I didn't even know it was still reading that info back to the stock ECU and even if it did who cares because the AEM is running the show. What are the high hp IS300 doing in these cases? I'm planning on running a good amount of boost and still retaining the factory TB. The MAF would still be retained for the IAT function.
I know I'm probably getting way ahead of myself considering I don't even have the car done or tuned, but I just want to get all my ducks in a row if you know what I mean.

Thanks

2001 Lexus IS300- R154 w/LSD-2JZGTE VVTI-GT3788R (In the works!)
2012 Lexus CT200H F Sport

Last edited by DC5ROY; 03-27-2012 at 02:48 PM.
DC5ROY is offline  
post #35 of 193 (permalink) Old 01-24-2012, 12:28 PM Thread Starter
Supporting Vendor
 
Dezod Motorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: GA
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by DC5ROY View Post
Well I guess you're referring to if the user is using the factory TB or not?
I'm just very interested in knowing if this is possibly something that I or others will be effected by.
I just freaked out because this was the first time I read about this.
I intend to keep the factory TB for now.
That also if the MAF is blow through vs pull through, stock TB and IM vs ?, standalone vs piggyback, MAF delete vs ?, Auto vs 5 Speed....
Dezod Motorsports is offline  
post #36 of 193 (permalink) Old 01-24-2012, 01:17 PM
Follower
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dezod Motorsports View Post
That also if the MAF is blow through vs pull through, stock TB and IM vs ?, standalone vs piggyback, MAF delete vs ?, Auto vs 5 Speed....
Paul I actually edited my prior post if you want to take a look at it.

In regards to what you just wrote I would be using the stock TB, Your AEM system, Keeping the MAF in the I/C pipe after the intercooler (blow through), car was auto but did a R154 manual tranny swap and retained factory 2001 ECU. Hope this helps

2001 Lexus IS300- R154 w/LSD-2JZGTE VVTI-GT3788R (In the works!)
2012 Lexus CT200H F Sport
DC5ROY is offline  
post #37 of 193 (permalink) Old 01-24-2012, 01:28 PM Thread Starter
Supporting Vendor
 
Dezod Motorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: GA
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by DC5ROY View Post
I'm just concerned because I had never heard about this in the past. I understand that the MAF is there to control tranny shift points, IAT and other things, but I never knew it was still had the ability to start closing the TB and effect cam timing when the MAF was maxing out. I didn't even know it was still reading that info back to the stock ECU and even if it did who cares because the AEM is running the show. What are the high hp IS300 doing in these cases? I'm planning on running a good amount of boost and still retaining the factory TB. The MAF would still be retained for the IAT function.
I know I'm probably getting way ahead of myself considering I don't even have the car done or tuned, but I just want to get all my ducts in a row if you know what I mean.

Thanks
Newer AEM set ups use an IAT sensor not the MAF.

If VVT is controlled by the factory ECU it can alter power that way. Our newer AEMs have the option for you to choose.

As far if this will be a factor for you, I don't know 100%.
Dezod Motorsports is offline  
post #38 of 193 (permalink) Old 01-24-2012, 02:16 PM
Follower
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Paul thanks for your support.
I'm actually going to be installing the V.1 AEM.
Like I said, I think I'm getting ahead of myself considering I haven't had first hand experience with this. If I ever do come across this issue I'll tackle it then. Hopefully with your great insight and expertise.

2001 Lexus IS300- R154 w/LSD-2JZGTE VVTI-GT3788R (In the works!)
2012 Lexus CT200H F Sport
DC5ROY is offline  
post #39 of 193 (permalink) Old 01-24-2012, 02:18 PM Thread Starter
Supporting Vendor
 
Dezod Motorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: GA
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by DC5ROY View Post
Paul thanks for your support.
I'm actually going to be installing the V.1 AEM.
Like I said, I think I'm getting ahead of myself considering I haven't had first hand experience with this. If I ever do come across this issue I'll tackle it then. Hopefully with your great insight and expertise.
As always, I am here if you need me. Rock on until then!
Dezod Motorsports is offline  
post #40 of 193 (permalink) Old 01-25-2012, 05:30 AM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by tba View Post
Ran into a problem today testing my V2 EMS. It seems that the V2 reads the wrong sensor voltage for the coolant temp. With my V1, I see 0.66v and 172F in AEMpro (OBD2 reads 161F). With the V2, it reads 1.2v and 129F in AEM Tuner (OBD2 reads 122F). Oil temp reads 190F, and I have an HKS coolant temp gauge installed that shows 168F, so the V1 reading is correct.
The low coolant temp reading is causing the idle to hold around 1400-1500rpm since the stock ECU thinks the motor still needs to warm up and holds the throttle body open. The radiator fans also do not turn on since the ECU thinks the coolant temp is lower than it really is.
I checked the wiring on the V2 PnP harness, and the coolant temp wire is correct pin to pin.
Any ideas for things to check?
I am having the same problem with my ems, what did you do to resolve it?

Boosted 2003 IS300 Sportdesign
346WHP and 314WTQ on a mustang dyno, tbc...
cliffyh is offline  
post #41 of 193 (permalink) Old 01-25-2012, 07:08 AM Thread Starter
Supporting Vendor
 
Dezod Motorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: GA
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffyh View Post
I am having the same problem with my ems, what did you do to resolve it?
You could simply run an AEM ECT sensor. The tap into the factory ECU is undoubtedly causing this with select V2 EMSs.
Dezod Motorsports is offline  
post #42 of 193 (permalink) Old 01-31-2012, 06:44 PM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
What would i have to change for a 2001 set up to use for a 2002?

Thanks

HKS triple plate. Is like the rattle call we all use to get the snakes to come out and play(i.e. vipers, cobras,Gt500's).
sleepyIS300 is offline  
post #43 of 193 (permalink) Old 02-01-2012, 07:35 AM Thread Starter
Supporting Vendor
 
Dezod Motorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: GA
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleepyIS300 View Post
What would i have to change for a 2001 set up to use for a 2002?

Thanks
Different harness. 02-05 have different ECU connectors than an 01.
Dezod Motorsports is offline  
post #44 of 193 (permalink) Old 02-08-2012, 08:20 AM
Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Colorado Springs, Co
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
           
Garage
ok i'm confused. went out yesterday to hook up the v2 AEM and now it's getting no power. at first it was saying wrong FIN / GIN files. so I found out that with the v11 cal, you need the old USB drivers "LibUSB-Win32 Devices" still doesn't appear.

what i've done is:
hook up MAP sensor into C17,C18,C19.
hook up IAT sensor to C18, C25 (which was weird it didn't have a tap)
hook up wideband to C16
plug harness into ECU, back to car harness, leading to AEM
hook laptop USB to AEM
ECU -> connection preference for USB
hook charger up to battery so i know it's 100% charged battery (had problems on my nissan it not reading at weak battery)
went and checked some of the 5V wires and they are getting power.

still can't get it to connect with the ecu. any more suggestions?
<< confused.

edit: here's what i found for the USB

- How to Install USB Driver?
1. Connect to EMS and power on.
2. After Windows pops up "Found new hardware", choose to install driver from the following place:
[Default] C:\Program Files\AEM\AEMTuner\USB Drivers (Series 2)

For EMS firmware version 01v11 or below, if you want to connect, you should install the driver and swap the dll. You can find the instructions from "Old USB Drivers" folder under your AEMTuner installation folder. Once you have driver installed, go to "Control Panel" -> "Device Manager", there should be a "LibUSB-Win32 Devices" device.

For EMS firmware version 01v12, there is NO need to install USB driver. Windows will recognize EMS natively (as Human Interface Device under Device Manager).

problem is step 1. connecting to EMS
thank you for any help!
~cody

02 5 speed. Chargespeed, CP, Eagle, OBX, area 51, SRT, TRD, HKS, Volk, TokenSolutions, FIGS, BC, ARP, Fidanza, ACT, Tein, UR, ATI, AEM, Hawk, Megan, Greddy, Mishimoto, Teck, Clifford, Focal, Alpine, Pioneer, C-West, AAC, Cusco, Sustec, Tuned Parts, Toyomoto, Walbro...ect ect
UsaPride is offline  
post #45 of 193 (permalink) Old 02-08-2012, 08:39 AM Thread Starter
Supporting Vendor
 
Dezod Motorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: GA
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by UsaPride View Post
ok i'm confused. went out yesterday to hook up the v2 AEM and now it's getting no power. at first it was saying wrong FIN / GIN files. so I found out that with the v11 cal, you need the old USB drivers "LibUSB-Win32 Devices" still doesn't appear.

what i've done is:
hook up MAP sensor into C17,C18,C19.
hook up IAT sensor to C18, C25 (which was weird it didn't have a tap)
hook up wideband to C16
plug harness into ECU, back to car harness, leading to AEM
hook laptop USB to AEM
ECU -> connection preference for USB
hook charger up to battery so i know it's 100% charged battery (had problems on my nissan it not reading at weak battery)
went and checked some of the 5V wires and they are getting power.

still can't get it to connect with the ecu. any more suggestions?
<< confused.

edit: here's what i found for the USB

- How to Install USB Driver?
1. Connect to EMS and power on.
2. After Windows pops up "Found new hardware", choose to install driver from the following place:
[Default] C:\Program Files\AEM\AEMTuner\USB Drivers (Series 2)

For EMS firmware version 01v11 or below, if you want to connect, you should install the driver and swap the dll. You can find the instructions from "Old USB Drivers" folder under your AEMTuner installation folder. Once you have driver installed, go to "Control Panel" -> "Device Manager", there should be a "LibUSB-Win32 Devices" device.

For EMS firmware version 01v12, there is NO need to install USB driver. Windows will recognize EMS natively (as Human Interface Device under Device Manager).

problem is step 1. connecting to EMS
thank you for any help!
~cody
Try uninstalling and re-installing the software.
Dezod Motorsports is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > Supporting Vendors > Dezod Motorsports

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Current users viewing this Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome