LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-08-2015, 07:42 PM Thread Starter
Fiend

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Redacted

As per request

Last edited by CleanAsIS; 01-05-2016 at 03:40 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-08-2015, 08:20 PM
Frequenter

Quoted: 32 Post(s)

Sorry but I would agree with them.. As a mechanic myself we never guarantee clutch work especially not after a year ... Driving habits are the only reason a clutch would go and after a year of it finally gave up.. If there was an initial problem or premature clutch wear or defect it would have been evident far earlier than the 1 year mark...
Poke_IS300 likes this.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-08-2015, 11:29 PM
Enthusiast

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)

It's too early to point fingers until you get the clutch out and see the cause of failure. Maybe they didn't match the clutch disc to the flywheel (sprung vs. Unsprung), or it wasn't seating properly, or the disc became glazed the one time you used it hard, or your rear main seal started leaking fluid on the disc, or maybe it simply was the wrong choice for your driving style etc. Etc.

The only thing I dont like is stating that a 6 puck racing disc is only one meant to be shifted at redline as its dumb IMO. At bare minimum the clutch better be designed to be shifted at redline. Ive used heavy pressure plates on stock discs on other cars that were severly bagged and bounced off the rev limit for years with no issues.

Not sure what exact combo you went with, but some aftermarket clutches don't seem to hold up as well as stock. The lighter ACT plates used to be known to be pretty weak sauce.
Poke_IS300 likes this.

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-10-2015, 01:14 PM Thread Starter
Fiend

Redacted

Last edited by CleanAsIS; 01-05-2016 at 03:40 PM. Reason: as per request
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-10-2015, 01:37 PM
Enthusiast