Why Would Caller-ID Stop Working? - my.IS - Lexus IS Forum
Welcome to the newly redesigned my.IS website - Your source for IS200, IS250, IS300, IS350 and IS-F Information.
 
b

Register | Home | Forums | News | Photos | Content | FAQ | Advertise | Store

 


Go Back   my.IS - Lexus IS Forum > Regional Forums / All Together Now > Canada
Register Home Forum Photos Active Topics / Realtime Garage iTrader User's Guide Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto LoansInsurance

My.is is the premier Lexus IS Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
» Log in
User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-27-2008, 10:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Immortal
 
Crester's Avatar
 
my.IS Supporter Roundtable Panelist 2005 ToyDrive Participant 2006 ToyDrive Participant
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 27,114
Crester is an elite community memberCrester is an elite community memberCrester is an elite community memberCrester is an elite community memberCrester is an elite community memberCrester is an elite community memberCrester is an elite community memberCrester is an elite community memberCrester is an elite community memberCrester is an elite community memberCrester is an elite community member
iTrader: (8)
Why Would Caller-ID Stop Working?

I recently bought this phone for my parents from Walmart. (yeah I know... ) They wanted a CORDED phone... and most places only seem to sell cordless phones now.

The phone actually worked great... but now for some reason it's not registering calls on the Caller ID display. The phone still works... you can make and receive calls... and the display physically works. All the other phones in the house display who's calling.

Any ideas on what could be happening... or what I could do to this phone?
__________________
.
.
I really wanna be a racecar driver... :-/

2001 IS300 MSM | EIBACH | BORLA | FIGS | VALEO | PIONEER | JOE Z | EAGLE F1 GS-D3 | LSD | STOPTECH | BILSTEIN | AFE POWER | POWERSLOT | 5000K | OZ ULTRALEGGERA | HARD RACE
Crester is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-27-2008, 10:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: T.do_OT
Posts: 7,541
rL-gT is an elite community memberrL-gT is an elite community memberrL-gT is an elite community memberrL-gT is an elite community memberrL-gT is an elite community memberrL-gT is an elite community memberrL-gT is an elite community memberrL-gT is an elite community memberrL-gT is an elite community memberrL-gT is an elite community memberrL-gT is an elite community member
iTrader: (20)
Hmm Ive got the same problem on 1 of my phones too.

Anyone?
__________________
Boost and Stuff- 2004 CW Turbo IS300 5MT LSD
354rwhp / 320lb ft @ 7.5PSI
rL-gT is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply
Old 03-27-2008, 10:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,393
digger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community member
iTrader: (15)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crester View Post
I recently bought this phone for my parents from Walmart. (yeah I know... ) They wanted a CORDED phone... and most places only seem to sell cordless phones now.

The phone actually worked great... but now for some reason it's not registering calls on the Caller ID display. The phone still works... you can make and receive calls... and the display physically works. All the other phones in the house display who's calling.

Any ideas on what could be happening... or what I could do to this phone?
Is it plugged in? AC power I mean..(not being a smart ass) or is it driven by the phone line only. It may actually have a battery in it, if not power corded.

Hard to say. I would trouble shoot, by plugging it into other phone jacks and test it in another location.

Also bang it with your palm (soft part) and ensure there is not a dry joint on the display board (or light knuckle wrap if your prefer, right on the LCD display)

Digger08
digger08 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply
Old 03-28-2008, 11:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Loyalist
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brampton ON, Canada
Posts: 1,575
clubfoot is an elite community memberclubfoot is an elite community memberclubfoot is an elite community memberclubfoot is an elite community memberclubfoot is an elite community memberclubfoot is an elite community memberclubfoot is an elite community memberclubfoot is an elite community memberclubfoot is an elite community memberclubfoot is an elite community memberclubfoot is an elite community member
iTrader: (1)
That's referred to as a calibrated adjustment
__________________
'06 Tungsten Pearl IS350,...with battle wounds and scars,...almost new.
clubfoot is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply
Old 03-28-2008, 03:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,393
digger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community member
iTrader: (15)
Quote:
Originally Posted by clubfoot View Post
That's referred to as a calibrated adjustment
Clubfoot,

I hope you don't instruct your airplane mechanics to use the calibrated adjustments on............say...Altimeters or Cabin Pressure guages in the same manor!

LOL

Digger08
digger08 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply
Old 03-28-2008, 11:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
The Furious
 
lexuriuz's Avatar
 
my.IS Supporter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,269
lexuriuz is an elite community memberlexuriuz is an elite community memberlexuriuz is an elite community memberlexuriuz is an elite community memberlexuriuz is an elite community memberlexuriuz is an elite community memberlexuriuz is an elite community memberlexuriuz is an elite community memberlexuriuz is an elite community memberlexuriuz is an elite community memberlexuriuz is an elite community member
iTrader: (5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by digger08 View Post
Clubfoot,

I hope you don't instruct your airplane mechanics to use the calibrated adjustments on............say...Altimeters or Cabin Pressure guages in the same manor!

LOL

Digger08
we're in trouble if that's the case Clubfoot are you really an airplane mechanic?

Just a thought, but does the phone have settings that can be changed on to show or NOT show the caller ID? Perhaps the settings have been tampered with. If you have a menu on the phone scroll through and check it out. Sometimes those things can get reset if you press a button while you're talking and don't even realize it.
lexuriuz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply
Old 03-29-2008, 02:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mississauga,ont
Posts: 1,411
skperformance is an elite community memberskperformance is an elite community memberskperformance is an elite community memberskperformance is an elite community memberskperformance is an elite community memberskperformance is an elite community memberskperformance is an elite community memberskperformance is an elite community memberskperformance is an elite community memberskperformance is an elite community memberskperformance is an elite community member
iTrader: (2)
What kind of house line do you have a voip or traditional pots landline?
Try the phone in another jack as well as making sure the jack you are using is not corroded.
The way caller id works is a short digital transmission ( fax/dial up noise ) on the analog line right before the phone rings. Then it sends another after the first ring with the information of the caller. It will repeat after a few rings not answered.
__________________
I'm not that guy ............

Think before you type because this isn't a conversation and you will be taken the wrong way .
skperformance is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply
Old 03-29-2008, 10:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,393
digger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community memberdigger08 is an elite community member
iTrader: (15)
Quote:
Originally Posted by skperformance View Post
What kind of house line do you have a voip or traditional pots landline?
Try the phone in another jack as well as making sure the jack you are using is not corroded.
The way caller id works is a short digital transmission ( fax/dial up noise ) on the analog line right before the phone rings. Then it sends another after the first ring with the information of the caller. It will repeat after a few rings not answered.
This information and Mark Levinson was married to Kim Cattrall all in the same week!

Too much.

Digger08
digger08 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  my.IS - Lexus IS Forum > Regional Forums / All Together Now > Canada

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the my.IS - Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Current users viewing this Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:51 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2