What MAF do you high hp bOost guys use - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 09:45 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
What MAF do you high hp bOost guys use

I am finishing up buying my last few parts for my build and I was wondering what MAF sensor are other 500+ boosted guys using?
02lexi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 10:32 AM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
           
Most standalone ECU's are best used with a MAP sensor. More accurate readings can be obtained and less restriction than if a MAF sensor were used. There are many other benefits to using MAP over MAF.

2002 Black Onyx IS300 5-speed w/LSD: GTE VVTi, AEM Infinity, BW S363, R154
my instagram
garrettej8 is online now  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 10:44 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
Thank you!!
02lexi is offline  
 
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 12:13 PM
Virgin Magnet
 
somguy2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 8,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
           
i use a stock maf and a map. depending on your goals you will need a map sensor for sure but keeping the stock maf is the question. I wanted CEL free operation using stock sensors so i need the stock maf in the stock location

TUI
Motorsports
Own the dream

LC SSI 006
SWTEA Talon
somguy2u is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 04:14 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by somguy2u View Post
i use a stock maf and a map. depending on your goals you will need a map sensor for sure but keeping the stock maf is the question. I wanted CEL free operation using stock sensors so i need the stock maf in the stock location
So you used both stock MAF and switched to a MAP?
02lexi is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 04:15 PM
Patriot
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 3,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
           
Is the MAF still required if you're keeping the stock or Aristo throttle body?

-Adam

2004 IS300 MSM 2JZ-GTE VVT-i Single 61mm 5 Speed
2015 Toyota Tacoma TRD Sport LB

Precision's Boosted Ride of the Month
bigkahuna2187 is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 04:18 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigkahuna2187 View Post
Is the MAF still required if you're keeping the stock or Aristo throttle body?
Yep. You have to run one or the other. The problem is that MAF can only read so much air. So when you add a turbo it can't accurately read how much air is going into the engine.
02lexi is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 04:37 PM
Patriot
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 3,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by 02lexi View Post
Yep. You have to run one or the other. The problem is that MAF can only read so much air. So when you add a turbo it can't accurately read how much air is going into the engine.
I understand that, I run both MAP and MAF myself (just to use the IAT thermocouple for my AEM EMS) but was curious if the MAF was required in order to properly run the DBW throttle bodies.

-Adam

2004 IS300 MSM 2JZ-GTE VVT-i Single 61mm 5 Speed
2015 Toyota Tacoma TRD Sport LB

Precision's Boosted Ride of the Month
bigkahuna2187 is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 04:41 PM
Cherisher
 
blkdout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,559
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 580 Post(s)
           
I believe the MAF helps control the fuel gauge, the auto trans and DBW.

I run both on my turbo car but probably don't need it anymore

"There's nothing like waiting and getting exactly what you want."
-Hiral
blkdout is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 05:54 PM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by blkdout View Post
I believe the MAF helps control the fuel gauge
Is that right? My fuel gauge is off by about 1/4 or so, ask me how I know

2002 Black Onyx IS300 5-speed w/LSD: GTE VVTi, AEM Infinity, BW S363, R154
my instagram
garrettej8 is online now  
post #11 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 06:03 PM
Cherisher
 
blkdout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,559
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 580 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by garrettej8 View Post
Is that right? My fuel gauge is off by about 1/4 or so, ask me how I know
haha mine used to be off by 1/4 but now it's more like 1/2 tank. I think the float got bumped with the new pump. I fill up at E and it puts 7-8 gallons in.


The stock ECU only reads the float incrementally. The 1/4 drops on most turbo cars are simply because the MAF isn't there or working with the ECU to fill in the gaps with the float reading and/or the O2 sensors are gone as well. The smooth operation of the fuel gauge I believe is a combined calculation of the MAF and O2 readings.
somguy2u likes this.

"There's nothing like waiting and getting exactly what you want."
-Hiral
blkdout is offline  
post #12 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 06:08 PM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by blkdout View Post
haha mine used to be off by 1/4 but now it's more like 1/2 tank. I think the float got bumped with the new pump. I fill up at E and it puts 7-8 gallons in.


The stock ECU only reads the float incrementally. The 1/4 drops on most turbo cars are simply because the MAF isn't there or working with the ECU to fill in the gaps with the float reading and/or the O2 sensors are gone as well. The smooth operation of the fuel gauge I believe is a combined calculation of the MAF and O2 readings.
Makes sense. I figured the stock ECU was missing some sort of sensor info since it's tough to keep it happy after a swap.

2002 Black Onyx IS300 5-speed w/LSD: GTE VVTi, AEM Infinity, BW S363, R154
my instagram
garrettej8 is online now  
post #13 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 07:09 PM
Cherisher
 
blkdout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,559
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 580 Post(s)
           
Yup. Basically, you keep the MAF for proper CEL operation and/or creature comforts so to speak.

When boosted, the MAF no longer helps control the engine. That's where the MAP takes over.

"There's nothing like waiting and getting exactly what you want."
-Hiral
blkdout is offline  
post #14 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 09:42 PM
Virgin Magnet
 
somguy2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 8,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
           
yes, maf defines what the o2 sensors should see, fuel gauge reads, vvti functions, and throttle operates. it's kind of a big deal in the IS, also important that you try and keep stock location and stock diameter piping for CEL free operation.

with a standalone, the MAP controls injection and ignition, but the maf is necessary for EVERYTHING else... that's why not many people can completely go standalone, how it's all ridiculously tied together.
blkdout likes this.

TUI
Motorsports
Own the dream

LC SSI 006
SWTEA Talon
somguy2u is offline  
post #15 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 09:45 PM
Virgin Magnet
 
somguy2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 8,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by blkdout View Post
haha mine used to be off by 1/4 but now it's more like 1/2 tank. I think the float got bumped with the new pump. I fill up at E and it puts 7-8 gallons in.


The stock ECU only reads the float incrementally. The 1/4 drops on most turbo cars are simply because the MAF isn't there or working with the ECU to fill in the gaps with the float reading and/or the O2 sensors are gone as well. The smooth operation of the fuel gauge I believe is a combined calculation of the MAF and O2 readings.
it's better than the other way! trust me.. i ran out of gas with 1/4 of a tank left - the float got stock on something and wouldn't ever drop below - such a pain.

TUI
Motorsports
Own the dream

LC SSI 006
SWTEA Talon
somguy2u is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > 1st-Gen IS300 > Go Faster

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Current users viewing this Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome