Swap Guide: JZX110/JZS171 1JZGTE VVTi into 02-05 IS300 - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 01-28-2016, 08:15 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
           
Swap Guide: JZX110/JZS171 1JZGTE VVTi into 02-05 IS300

It has been brought to my attention that a ton of misinformation is out there in regards to this swap. I am here to change that. I have successfully performed this swap to my own IS300 and it has been running great and taking a beating for the last year Some of you may recognize me from the 3SGE BEAMS swap that I did to this car a few years back. Well that engine blew up and I decided to go down this route. It took a ton of time and effort to figure this stuff out, so I hope I can help a few of you out and make your lives easier.

**Place marker. This is not finished.**
Attached Files
File Type: pdf JZX110 ECU Pinout to 02-05 IS300.pdf (10.3 KB, 2289 views)
File Type: pdf JZX110 AFC Neo install guide.pdf (136.5 KB, 1589 views)
File Type: pdf JZX110 ECU Terminals.pdf (116.7 KB, 1851 views)
c1L likes this.
Lucas@AirLift is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 01-28-2016, 08:36 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
           
The end result

https://youtu.be/Rlth4Tt_Yzw
https://youtu.be/E8ThI2HKiEo

**Also a place marker for later**

**EDIT: Car is now running an AR5 trans and a Megasquirt MS3X for engine management. It has been going strong for 2 drift seasons with zero issues. I am in process of installing a GTX3076R and welding in a roll cage.

Last edited by Lucas@AirLift; 03-08-2017 at 02:23 PM.
Lucas@AirLift is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 01-29-2016, 08:22 AM
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
           
Ive thought about doing this swap for way too long... Im subscribing to this one. did you make a thread with the install?
GGP01IS300 is offline  
 
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 01-29-2016, 03:20 PM
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
 
Awesome resource so far, I just received my JZX100 1J yesterday. Looking forward to whatever else you have coming, by the looks of it it should be a pretty thorough documentation.

Thanks for taking the time to get this going!
Mzs14 is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 01-31-2016, 11:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Plantation FL
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
           
Thank you for taking the time to share your research.. i just posted a question the 1jz wiring thread before i stumbled upon this one.. im looking to use the 110ecu with my factory 5spd.. im wondering if they are going to be any issues using an auto ecu without the auto trans present.
Money_pit is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-01-2016, 06:03 PM
Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Smithtown, NY
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
           
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Money_pit View Post
Thank you for taking the time to share your research.. i just posted a question the 1jz wiring thread before i stumbled upon this one.. im looking to use the 110ecu with my factory 5spd.. im wondering if they are going to be any issues using an auto ecu without the auto trans present.

Correct me if im wrong but i spoke with him and hes using the auto ECU with a 5 speed trans. the only issues he has using this is that there is a CEL on and the cruise control does not work. So in theory a x110 manual ecu could fix these issues.

2002 MSM Sportcross
TEIN//Gita//Blitz//Pioneer//FIGS//Work

instagram - ellis300
ellis300 is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-01-2016, 06:05 PM
Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Smithtown, NY
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
           
Garage
i myself plan on using this info, this is awesome since it makes the engine run on the FACTORY settings, making it as reliable as an JZX110/JZS171 in Japan!

all i need to do is figure out what drive shaft will work with the a340 and fit the IS

2002 MSM Sportcross
TEIN//Gita//Blitz//Pioneer//FIGS//Work

instagram - ellis300
ellis300 is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-03-2016, 03:05 PM
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
 
So I know there is more to come, but my curiosity is killing me on where to mount the JZX ECU in the engine bay given the length of the harness extensions that are available (Boomslang, Dezod, etc.)

Any pics or specifics on this part would be most helpful.
Mzs14 is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-09-2016, 11:16 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGP01IS300 View Post
Ive thought about doing this swap for way too long... Im subscribing to this one. did you make a thread with the install?
This is going to be that thread. I had only documented it on my personal facebook account up to this point

Quote:
Originally Posted by ellis300 View Post
Correct me if im wrong but i spoke with him and hes using the auto ECU with a 5 speed trans. the only issues he has using this is that there is a CEL on and the cruise control does not work. So in theory a x110 manual ecu could fix these issues.
This is correct. I am using an A/T ecu. The CEL is on solid as it is throwing codes for the auto trans parts that are no longer installed. Since the auto ecu converts tail shaft speed to use as vehicle speed, cruise control is rendered INOP. In theory, a JZX110 manual ECU would make the swap 100% functional, but I have never found a manual JZX110 swap.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mzs14 View Post
So I know there is more to come, but my curiosity is killing me on where to mount the JZX ECU in the engine bay given the length of the harness extensions that are available (Boomslang, Dezod, etc.)

Any pics or specifics on this part would be most helpful.
The ECU slides right in to where the ECU goes. This is a JZX110 swap, not JZX100 which mounts the ECU in the interior.


Guys I have not forgotten about this. Been super busy with work and getting my car ready for this years drift season. I am going to spend some time on this tonight.

BTW, how can I upload larger files? I have a full engine wiring schematic that I translated from russian, but it is too large to upload.
Lucas@AirLift is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-22-2016, 03:16 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NJ/NY
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
           
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucas@AirLift View Post

BTW, how can I upload larger files? I have a full engine wiring schematic that I translated from russian, but it is too large to upload.
That is the downside of forums. If it is a PDF file, just upload it on Photobucket or something. If it is an Excel sheet, post a google doc that only you can edit.
Pete the Russian had a wiring diagram he translated I believe.

Can't wait to see an actual build DIY on this :D

'05 IS300 - Daily Driven

Instagram
IS_aLEX is offline  
post #11 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-22-2016, 05:33 PM
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
I'd imagine the process is pretty similar to the Aristo swap but curious nonetheless...

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
post #12 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-23-2016, 06:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Santo Domingo
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
1JZ Vvti With ETCS-i Have S3 And S4 Solenoid In Auto Transmission

Only ETC Have S2 And S1

Btw Some Members Of Sxe10Crew With 1JZ Vvti (Altezzas Not Is300/200)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	6d1d2f66-6eca-4a95-a989-9de7985e86dc.jpg
Views:	2538
Size:	108.7 KB
ID:	93082   Click image for larger version

Name:	60c8eb65-b9e5-4dad-a2fa-12846939fc02.jpg
Views:	2382
Size:	200.3 KB
ID:	93090   Click image for larger version

Name:	a.jpg
Views:	4087
Size:	131.2 KB
ID:	93098  

Sxe10Crew Member (Dominican Republic)
Altezza RS200Z 2003 (Sold) (RHD)
Lexus IS300 2JZGE-T 2005 (Sold) (LHD)
Altezza RS200L 1999 (Sold) (LHD)
Altezza RS430 (3UZ) (Sold) (RHD)
Lexus IS350

Last edited by Quimicax; 02-23-2016 at 07:16 AM.
Quimicax is offline  
post #13 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-23-2016, 07:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by IS_aLEX View Post
That is the downside of forums. If it is a PDF file, just upload it on Photobucket or something. If it is an Excel sheet, post a google doc that only you can edit.
Pete the Russian had a wiring diagram he translated I believe.

Can't wait to see an actual build DIY on this :D

I pretty sue Pete the Russian used a 1jzgte vvti from a jzx100 which is the more common one that people do as there's more info on them, but saying that the Russian diagram I've got for the jzx110 1jzgte vvti that I've got isn't too hard to work out the tricky bit is locating an IS200 1gfe wiring diagram

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
Mountaindewing is offline  
post #14 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-14-2016, 06:54 PM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
 
Anymore updates on this Lucas? I've located a JZX110 manual ecu that I'm thinking about buying since I want my swap to be as plug-n-play as possible.

02' Manual w/MKIII LSD and no sunroof.
Piggity is offline  
post #15 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-14-2016, 08:53 PM
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: St Maarten
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
           
is the AFC Neo your only fuel management source? or do u have a Fuel Pressure Regulator (that I am not seeing in the engine bay lol) somewhere.. and a Fuel Return line?

and if you dont mine me asking, what intercooler piping kit is that? cx racing? or is it custom made?

Black Onyx '01 IS300 | 1JZ-GTE VVTi Swapped | JZS171 | LSD | Running 100% off the 1JZ ECU | CX Racing Coilovers | FutureFab DP to Custom 3" Straight Pipe to Yonaka Exhaust | Custom Intake x K&N Filter | 2.5" Piping x FMIC | Walbro 255 | Pioneer/JL Audio | OEM Altezza Interior

Next: Wheels

#JZMob | Check Us Out @ www.Facebook.com/JZMobAruba
TNCMAviator is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > 1st-Gen IS300 > Go Faster

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Current users viewing this Thread: 5 (0 members and 5 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome