NA-t vs gte - Page 4 - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

 4Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #46 of 63 (permalink) Old 03-09-2017, 11:17 AM
Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
           
Infinity or ProEFI
cleansleeper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #47 of 63 (permalink) Old 03-09-2017, 02:55 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by allturbo98 View Post

What would be a good alternative to these? I know a standalone would be the best, but which one because AEM infinity sounds good, what about a MegaSquirt. For the Megasquirt, don't you have to put it together? Im still new to the engine managements. Most cars ive had just required upgraded turbo parts and a SAFC to get it to run good. Just trying not to spend too much money for only a little power.
If you have the money, then yes go infinity or pro EFI. The Megasquirt3 Pro is completely different than the MS3x. Token solutions used to make a pnp harness for it too. I'm having a custom harness built for mine. Only reason I got it was because I got it for $800 with an 02+ harness that is being altered to work with 01. I just haven't seen that many people with IS300's run a MS3pro or ms3x. A lot of success on this platform has been made on AEM's selection of standalones. You can likely go with a V2 with PnP harness that would suit your needs. I'll update once I get the new EMS rolling.
jesuspuppy is offline  
post #48 of 63 (permalink) Old 03-10-2017, 07:50 AM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NM
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesuspuppy View Post
If you have the money, then yes go infinity or pro EFI. The Megasquirt3 Pro is completely different than the MS3x. Token solutions used to make a pnp harness for it too. I'm having a custom harness built for mine. Only reason I got it was because I got it for $800 with an 02+ harness that is being altered to work with 01. I just haven't seen that many people with IS300's run a MS3pro or ms3x. A lot of success on this platform has been made on AEM's selection of standalones. You can likely go with a V2 with PnP harness that would suit your needs. I'll update once I get the new EMS rolling.
What will work on a 01 year with AT? I have read some that some will not work with AT and that some don't have harnesses to hook up to 01 model years. What are people doing with these model years and transmissions if they go boost and want to keep the GE motor along with the AT?
allturbo98 is offline  
 
post #49 of 63 (permalink) Old 03-10-2017, 09:01 AM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by allturbo98 View Post
What will work on a 01 year with AT? I have read some that some will not work with AT and that some don't have harnesses to hook up to 01 model years. What are people doing with these model years and transmissions if they go boost and want to keep the GE motor along with the AT?
Run the stock ECU in parallel with the standalone. That way the stock ECU still operates the transmission . I'm having a harness custom made ... I'm not sure if I have all the answers to your question. I haven't installed my standalone yet. So I don't have any success stories of my own. Just filling you in that I'm trying the MS3pro
jesuspuppy is offline  
post #50 of 63 (permalink) Old 03-10-2017, 09:44 AM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NM
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesuspuppy View Post
Run the stock ECU in parallel with the standalone. That way the stock ECU still operates the transmission . I'm having a harness custom made ... I'm not sure if I have all the answers to your question. I haven't installed my standalone yet. So I don't have any success stories of my own. Just filling you in that I'm trying the MS3pro
Where did you get your MS3pro and how much if you don't mind me asking.
allturbo98 is offline  
post #51 of 63 (permalink) Old 03-10-2017, 12:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by cleansleeper View Post
No. Don't use a GTE head gasket at all. GE is fine and leaves the compression ratio somewhere around 9.3:1 or something like that. GYE head gasket drops it into the low 8's leaving it lacking power off boost.

When you put the new rods and pistons in have the block line honed for straightest and decked.

Depending on power install new ACL race bearings all around or new OEM bearings. ARP mains and head studs are a good idea as well.

However you will have to grind some inside the head when doing the head studs on a GE head. Its only on one or two but jus be prepared. The problem is the head on the studs and having to get a socket on them and torque them down... there's simply no room in a couple spots.
Well a 1.3 mm headgasket will net you a 9.53:1 ratio on stock ge internals was gonna do but did cams and the retard lowering compression not needed for me , no grind for ge head studs use 13mm 12pt 3/8 deep socket for arp studs just did mine.
pfunkmixer is offline  
post #52 of 63 (permalink) Old 03-10-2017, 01:17 PM
Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by pfunkmixer View Post
Well a 1.3 mm headgasket will net you a 9.53:1 ratio on stock ge internals was gonna do but did cams and the retard lowering compression not needed for me , no grind for ge head studs use 13mm 12pt 3/8 deep socket for arp studs just did mine.

Sure if you're on GE internals but those don't hold any power.
cleansleeper is offline  
post #53 of 63 (permalink) Old 03-10-2017, 01:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by cleansleeper View Post
Sure if you're on GE internals but those don't hold any power.
as in 400hp would need your definition of power seems like we will see when we get there as others have.
pfunkmixer is offline  
post #54 of 63 (permalink) Old 03-10-2017, 01:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by allturbo98 View Post
What would be a good alternative to these? I know a standalone would be the best, but which one because AEM infinity sounds good, what about a MegaSquirt. For the Megasquirt, don't you have to put it together? Im still new to the engine managements. Most cars ive had just required upgraded turbo parts and a SAFC to get it to run good. Just trying not to spend too much money for only a little power.
the million dollar question but with the dated info on the forum hard to say until we spend that money I cannot decide whether to go infinity, haltech, ecu masters, piggy, so far i see the issue is with the can network but no info on the new standalones working with can for the is3 for a true plug and play will need to call directly. haltech has some interesting new ecu's. still researching for ease of installation, features, tuners, self tuning options. or go with the dated options which are now becoming discontinued.

Last edited by pfunkmixer; 03-10-2017 at 02:42 PM.
pfunkmixer is offline  
post #55 of 63 (permalink) Old 03-10-2017, 06:00 PM
Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by pfunkmixer View Post
as in 400hp would need your definition of power seems like we will see when we get there as others have.

That won't be too reliable in the long haul. Also a time proven fact.
cleansleeper is offline  
post #56 of 63 (permalink) Old 03-10-2017, 06:32 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
           
I don't think the info on the forums is dated. Just not a lot of info on the new stuff, doesn't mean the old stuff doesn't work. You just gotta talk to the people that have turbo IS300's already. They will lead you in the right direction.

I paid $800 for my MS3 Pro with harness.
jesuspuppy is offline  
post #57 of 63 (permalink) Old 03-10-2017, 06:35 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by allturbo98 View Post

Where did you get your MS3pro and how much if you don't mind me asking.
I forgot to add I bought it on is300 classifieds on Facebook. Sometimes you gotta wait for those deals if you are really on a budget
jesuspuppy is offline  
post #58 of 63 (permalink) Old 03-15-2017, 10:32 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by cleansleeper View Post
That won't be too reliable in the long haul. Also a time proven fact.
Can you give me a short haul estimate if I beat the shit out of it only on days that end in Y at 10-15 psi and please just the fax sir..
pfunkmixer is offline  
post #59 of 63 (permalink) Old 03-15-2017, 02:15 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by pfunkmixer View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by cleansleeper View Post
That won't be too reliable in the long haul. Also a time proven fact.
Can you give me a short haul estimate if I beat the shit out of it only on days that end in Y at 10-15 psi and please just the fax sir..
I know the question wasn't directed towards me but 10-15 psi is pushing it on the stock block. The tune is what really defines the longevity of the engine. Pre-existing health of the engine also matters. The car could blow on the Dyno with that kind of boost. So you might not even get to one weekend of beating the hell of it.
jesuspuppy is offline  
post #60 of 63 (permalink) Old 03-16-2017, 12:25 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesuspuppy View Post
I know the question wasn't directed towards me but 10-15 psi is pushing it on the stock block. The tune is what really defines the longevity of the engine. Pre-existing health of the engine also matters. The car could blow on the Dyno with that kind of boost. So you might not even get to one weekend of beating the hell of it.

Challenge accepted sir can you tell me whats gonna blow first at 15 psi with 220k on stock block internals. Though I will increase boost in increments to be on the safe side. BTW Is your ems supporting trac and dbw and is it pigged with a reset?
pfunkmixer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > 1st-Gen IS300 > Go Faster

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Current users viewing this Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome