JDM 2JZ-GE swap into IS300 - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-09-2013, 10:42 PM Thread Starter
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
           
JDM 2JZ-GE swap into IS300

Hey guys,

before you tell me to search im just going to say i did but all i could find was threads about swapping in a GTE. OR ge swap threads but everyone said was "just put in a GTE" lol. Btw if this is in the wrong section please change it over to the right one.

This is a 2004 5sp is300 with 180,000km (Canadian)

The other day i was just accelerating not even to hard and the engine just started to sound like crap and smoke was everywhere, smoke was from oil leaking onto hot engine parts and i have no idea what happened but it barley wants to start and when it does it sounds like shit. Something is definitely wrong internally, did i mention its leakin oil? lol

Anyways when i got it through a used car lot i got a pretty sweet warranty on the driver-train so this is just in case they want to screw me and i have to swap the motor myself.

I know about the oil pan issue thats NBD. but what kind of jdm engine can be used? generation? out of what vehicle is best or is the easiest swap. are all the jdm VVT-I engines compatible going into the is300? Should i be worried about sensors, egr ect.... I also live in toronto and there are TONS of jdm engine shops in my area, so sourcing a jdm motor is nbd

Any advice would be amazing, as this is my DD and need to get it back up and running ASAP. hopefully the warranty will pay for it all so this is just a fall back in case they dont.


Thanks for any future advice

Cheers

Danny
DannysIS300 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-09-2013, 10:57 PM
Loyalist
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 1,908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Have you done your regular maintenance like spark plugs, Throttle body cleaning, air filter, maf and all that other good stuff?

It could be something as simple as that.. Except the oil leak. But I'd check that out if you haven't yet before you invest all that time and money.

01 GGP E-Shift - SRT Intake, Sunroofless :) - SOLD
03 MSM 5-Speed w/ LSD
bmxrush is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-09-2013, 11:03 PM
Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
There's no difference between the usdm and jdm versions for the Ge engines. Correct me if I'm wrong though but I do remember a couple other members also said this awhile back.
svv323 is offline  
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-09-2013, 11:27 PM Thread Starter
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
           
I have done all the fluids and was going to do plugs in the next couple weeks while i was doing that i was going to clean the intake, tb, maf while i have everything apart. I am pretty sure something terrible has happened internally on the engine. I just hope the warranty will take care of this...

Thx for the info on the engine its good to know any VVTI will work, so i guess just trying to get my hands on one that is as new as i can get. Does anyone know the last year they produced a VVTI in a jdm version?

If i do have to swap myself which i have all the tools for and some knowledge as i have done a swap on my 86 mr2 but have never done a inline 6. Are there any particular engine components i should change just in case to prevent future break downs. IE water pump, oil pump, timing belt ect....
DannysIS300 is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-10-2013, 12:33 AM Thread Starter
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
           
also i have been reading about the jdm ecu, if i use just JDM engine can i use all of my other stuff off my usdm motor? engine harness, ecu, maf sensor ect? or do i still need to run the jdm ecu no matter what?
DannysIS300 is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-11-2013, 12:52 PM Thread Starter
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
           
Woah so warranty will cover 1400 and still left with a bill of 2700 bucks!! looks like im buying a jdm motor and doing it myself! 1000 bucks for the motor and i have all the tools to do it.

Does anyone know of the egr problem? is it hard to adapt the egr onto a jdm motor? and if so will the car still run properly wihtout it?

I need your help guys please let me know as i gotta start this swap ASAP

Cheers
DannysIS300 is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-11-2013, 05:27 PM
Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ont, Canada!
Posts: 779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
           
afaik there is no egr in a is300. if the jdm motor has it plug it up with some jb weld.

02 1C0 5spd
Megomaniac is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-11-2013, 05:32 PM
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: cypress, Tx
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Megomaniac View Post
afaik there is no egr in a is300. if the jdm motor has it plug it up with some jb weld.
this or you can buy the egr block off plates.

2004 Lexus Is300
1995 Toyota TT Supra
2005 BMW M3
Slow_Supra is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-11-2013, 05:35 PM
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Daphne,Al
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Well if I had my motor out doing my swap you could buy it.. It only has 80,000 on it
05silverIS is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-11-2013, 07:51 PM Thread Starter
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
           
so there is no egr on the usdm motor?
DannysIS300 is offline  
post #11 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-11-2013, 08:15 PM
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by DannysIS300 View Post
so there is no egr on the usdm motor?
There's no EGR on the JDM
Mawtin is offline  
post #12 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-11-2013, 08:49 PM Thread Starter
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
           
u guys are confusing my question lol. i originally asked if i can adapt the usdm egr (if there is one) onto a jdm motor? and if so is it difficult/ will it through codes and make the car run weird without a jdm ecu? i need to make this thing legal for when emission times come. no egr means big fine in ontario, that is if it came stock with a egr which most modern cars do.
DannysIS300 is offline  
post #13 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-12-2013, 09:07 AM
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by DannysIS300 View Post
u guys are confusing my question lol. i originally asked if i can adapt the usdm egr (if there is one) onto a jdm motor? and if so is it difficult/ will it through codes and make the car run weird without a jdm ecu? i need to make this thing legal for when emission times come. no egr means big fine in ontario, that is if it came stock with a egr which most modern cars do.
Yes its possible to put EGR on the JDM head, or you could interchange the USDM head onto the JDM block

Another thing to note is that the USDM has more power at the crank than the JDM
Mawtin is offline  
post #14 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-12-2013, 10:55 AM Thread Starter
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
           
dang really? well i do believe the head is still good on the usdm motor. how much less ponys are we talkin? i thought the gte's were only more powerful in the usdm market due to the gentleman agreement.
DannysIS300 is offline  
post #15 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-12-2013, 01:10 PM
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by DannysIS300 View Post
dang really? well i do believe the head is still good on the usdm motor. how much less ponys are we talkin? i thought the gte's were only more powerful in the usdm market due to the gentleman agreement.
Oh, my bad. I misread my research.
You're correct about the GTE's
Mawtin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > 1st-Gen IS300 > Go Faster

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Current users viewing this Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome