I can't find the key to an obd2 passing turbo - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

 1Likes
  • 1 Post By bigkahuna2187
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-14-2017, 06:15 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I can't find the key to an obd2 passing turbo

Long story short, I picked up a 2jgte, I have built said engine and ideally I'd love to get it into an is300 with a 66mm turbo, but where I live, once a year I need it to play nice while someone asks the car to turn it's head and caugh.

Anyway, I'm trying to figure out the best way to do this. The engine will be on the higher end of the output scale and as such I want a robust ecu setup. I have about 8k into the long block with a built head and block so the last thing I want to do is scatter that on the road with a halfassed engine management system.

So how do I get the stock ecu to be happy and not throw codes while letting aem/proefi/motec etc do all the real work
sumfoo1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-15-2017, 01:30 PM
Virgin Magnet
 
somguy2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 8,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
           
theres only a handful of people that i know of that have passed emissions and only 2 with a swapped gte in their car. if your'e keeping the stock ecu, you need to make sure all stock sensors are used and serrch this forum for all the tricks to defeat CEL's and just start working down the list of them. it's not an easy thing.

TUI
Motorsports
Own the dream

LC SSI 006
SWTEA Talon
somguy2u is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-15-2017, 07:14 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
           
I live in NC and have to pass the ob2 as well. Ive got a built aristo gte im going to put into my is300. Like stated above, my tuner told me that all the is300 sensors will have to be used. He likes working with Haltech so he told me to purchase whatever haltech system i wanted and he would have to run it parrallel to the stock ecu. Im pretty sure he actually told me i would have to run the aristo engine to retain vvti to help keep the stock ecu happy with that. Not sure if its nessacary or just something he recommends. Only input I can really give is to talk to local shops in your area that may have experience doing it. There are also a few threads that have the info needed to do it.
RAJJis300 is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-16-2017, 07:18 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Who is your tuner ?

If he gets it figured out he may be my tuner too :-)

Obviously things like injectors etc can be changed

Last edited by somguy2u; 03-16-2017 at 07:48 AM.
sumfoo1 is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-16-2017, 04:34 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by sumfoo1 View Post
Who is your tuner ?

If he gets it figured out he may be my tuner too :-)

Obviously things like injectors etc can be changed
Are you in NC?

Force Fed Performance http://force-fedperformance.com
Justin Miller is the owner, real good dude that wont BS you and does not do anything half-assed. Give him a call or shoot him an email. Tell him what youre trying to do and he will explain it all to you. Majestic Motorsports is in NC also and they are VERY good. Talk to Richard Homer there. If I didnt plan on using Justin i would use Rich.
RAJJis300 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-18-2017, 07:11 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Yeah i live in Raleigh. Sounds good, I want to build the engine and I'm capable of tuning my own car without obd2 getting in the way but the wiring and obd stuff I don't really want to get screwed with, otherwise I'll just pick up a 240 or sc300 and slide it in.
sumfoo1 is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-18-2017, 07:13 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
           
Yea im doing everything myself except for tuning. Im going to let Justin do that since he has experience beating the obd2 BS. Im about 30minutes from Raleigh so if you need anything or need help feel free to let me know.
RAJJis300 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-18-2017, 09:13 PM
Patriot
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 3,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
           
Move to Florida...

In all seriousness I feel for you guys who need to pass emissions. I'm sure its a challenge.
somguy2u likes this.

-Adam

2004 IS300 MSM 2JZ-GTE VVT-i Single 61mm 5 Speed
2015 Toyota Tacoma TRD Sport LB

Precision's Boosted Ride of the Month
bigkahuna2187 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > 1st-Gen IS300 > Go Faster

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Current users viewing this Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome