Aristo 2JZ-GTE VVTi Swap Doc - Page 8 - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

 2Likes
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #106 of 795 (permalink) Old 02-11-2008, 08:17 AM
Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
           
Thanks! I dont see any wires making it out to be a sensor...Is this just a Toyota design for splitting into two PS lines or is that fitting serving another purpose?
mikkellucci is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #107 of 795 (permalink) Old 02-11-2008, 09:14 AM
Guru
 
TeCKis300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego
Posts: 6,606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
           
The vac hoses are for the mechanical idle up for power steering. You can see one goes from right before the TB and the other goes to the manifold after TB.

You need none of it unless you are doing standalone. The IS300 ECU accomplishes this via the dbw TB. So use the electronic switch from the IS300.

Car sold to a good new home!

Full Aristo 2JZ-GTE BPU++ - Getrag v161 - EMU - Brembo BBK - CCW Classics 9F/10.5R - 255/35F - 285/30R - AAR Arms - GReddy Type-S - Hotchkis Sways - Teck Kit - Prolex / Cusco STB - Full ICE - HKS Drager - Prosport Prem Boost/EGT/FP - Innovative LC-1/XD-16 - Goodridge SS - TRD F/R Underbrace - Greddy Profec B Spec II - Megan Toe Arms
TeCKis300 is offline  
post #108 of 795 (permalink) Old 02-11-2008, 11:24 AM
Altruist
 
IS_BoostByPsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincy, Ohio
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
I would put the valve covers back on just for insurance that nothing gets all over the camshafts and into the valves.

Ok good mike, cause I was about to say, man you have a lot of cleaning ahead of you!

Also did you guys keep your little vaccume tube underneath the intake ?
Its the black canister near the firewall end of the motor under the intake mani. It has two vaccume lines on it. Did you guys use that or plug up the hoses?

*** on the water pump issue, I thought that the gte was clutch type fan and the is300 is hydrolic. Does the pump itself have anything to do with the fans themselves? If not Ill get the GTE pump. Also did either of you (teck or wing) change your thermostat? I dont want to leave the old one in there and I am really considering replacing it while I am in there anyway.

o2' Black Onyx IS300 - Back to stock :( for now.
IS_BoostByPsi is offline  
 
post #109 of 795 (permalink) Old 02-12-2008, 06:03 AM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by IS_BoostByPsi View Post
I would put the valve covers back on just for insurance that nothing gets all over the camshafts and into the valves.

Ok good mike, cause I was about to say, man you have a lot of cleaning ahead of you!

Also did you guys keep your little vaccume tube underneath the intake ?
Its the black canister near the firewall end of the motor under the intake mani. It has two vaccume lines on it. Did you guys use that or plug up the hoses?

*** on the water pump issue, I thought that the gte was clutch type fan and the is300 is hydrolic. Does the pump itself have anything to do with the fans themselves? If not Ill get the GTE pump. Also did either of you (teck or wing) change your thermostat? I dont want to leave the old one in there and I am really considering replacing it while I am in there anyway.
Yeah i changed my thermo out. Its a cheap part (with respect to everything else ) so you may aswell just change it out. If memory serves, the IS has electric fans. So the water pump does not control them....so to speak. You will be fine with a GTE water pump. That's what I used and it works perfect with the IS serpentine belt. No issues. Make sure you swap out the water temp sensor from the IS that is on the exhaust side and replace the sensor the GTE engine on the intake side.

As for PS, yeah you should be using the IS pump. It has an electrical connection near the main line. You'll see it. The ECU uses that to control it. THe GTE style has the VSV bulls*it that won't be used anyway.

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
post #110 of 795 (permalink) Old 02-12-2008, 06:05 AM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
by the way im working on the rest of the swap doc, so hopefully i can get it posted soon. at this time, I am finally getting the Fuel Return line done. These damn AN fittings are a BIOTCH to get the SS line in..... Anyone have any tips for me? I'm using -6AN SS line and Fittings. Do you just pound them in with the wrath of god or something?

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
post #111 of 795 (permalink) Old 02-15-2008, 10:25 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Question

so wen u do tha 2jz swap can u use aftermarket parts for a 2jz supra? and wut type of exhaust do u use... one that fits a IS or supra?
JzJeTT is offline  
post #112 of 795 (permalink) Old 02-25-2008, 08:30 AM
Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
           
Any one have the p/n for the intake mani gasket? I ordered the usdm GTE gasket forgetting that its different then the jdm.
Thanks, Mike
mikkellucci is offline  
post #113 of 795 (permalink) Old 02-25-2008, 08:55 AM
Altruist
 
IS_BoostByPsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincy, Ohio
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
whats wrong with the old one? I used most of my old gaskets with the exception of the vital ones.

I would have updates but its just to cold to be out working on the motor.

o2' Black Onyx IS300 - Back to stock :( for now.
IS_BoostByPsi is offline  
post #114 of 795 (permalink) Old 02-25-2008, 09:06 AM
Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
           
I'm pretty meticulous / anal retentive, whatever you want to call it. I ordered a ton of new gaskets and fittings...thats just what I do.

Last edited by mikkellucci; 02-25-2008 at 10:24 AM.
mikkellucci is offline  
post #115 of 795 (permalink) Old 02-25-2008, 10:28 AM
Altruist
 
IS_BoostByPsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincy, Ohio
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Ha ha I know. I saw the box in your garage!

I havent done anything with my motor or trans. Too blimey cold.

That along with GF birthday, new tires, insurance etc this month...$$$$

o2' Black Onyx IS300 - Back to stock :( for now.
IS_BoostByPsi is offline  
post #116 of 795 (permalink) Old 02-25-2008, 11:05 AM
Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
           
I hear ya, man. The most work I'm doing is ordering parts/mods and reading service manuals.

Did you ever decide to remove your press. tank?
I've gathered that all it does is hold pressure to help activate the valves used to control the stock twin sequential operation. Once we go single, or in your case TTC, there should no longer a function for the pressure tank.
mikkellucci is offline  
post #117 of 795 (permalink) Old 02-25-2008, 11:07 AM
Altruist
 
IS_BoostByPsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincy, Ohio
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Yeah , I already removed it from the engine and it went into "do not need" box. I dont think that I will use it for that reason, I will be ttc. I will also be removing the valve on the top of the 2nd turbo like teck . but instead of cutting it out, I will have a new pipe welded in place.

o2' Black Onyx IS300 - Back to stock :( for now.
IS_BoostByPsi is offline  
post #118 of 795 (permalink) Old 02-26-2008, 08:23 AM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
the only valve i left in place is the one underneath the first turbo. the other three i either removed or wired open. If you remove the clamp on the rod the valve is extremely easy to wire open. practically swings open and close with 1 finger.

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
post #119 of 795 (permalink) Old 02-27-2008, 01:29 PM
Domestic Reaper
 
MoonlightSilver_IS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: CiNcY, oHIo
Posts: 3,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
How are you both controlling boost?

I got rid of the 2nd turbo valve like teck and the other valve on top of the piping. But I left the valve on the Down pipe , is that right? Is there apicture of the valve you have left and how you are regulating boost?

Cincy, OH
MoonlightSilver_IS is offline  
post #120 of 795 (permalink) Old 03-05-2008, 01:35 PM
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NRH, TX
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
I have an apex neo for fuel, do i still need a fuel cut defender?

01' aristo swap/ T67
sgtmat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > 1st-Gen IS300 > Go Faster

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Current users viewing this Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome