Aristo 2JZ-GTE VVTi Swap Doc - Page 2 - Lexus IS Forum
User Tag List

 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 795 (permalink) Old 12-28-2007, 07:23 AM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
I maybe a little lost here, all my exhaust flappers have been wired open. And if memory serves there are no vacuum plugs near the manifold only above it near the turbos. The only thing that was connected to the flappers were the solenoids and those have been removed. Guys, did I miss something here? However, yes I am using regular plugs and they have held up just fine so far. And even if they have to be replaced...i've got LOTS of them.

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 795 (permalink) Old 12-28-2007, 08:13 AM
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
I will try to get some pictures up in a little while of what I'm talking about.
Almost Stock TSi is offline  
post #18 of 795 (permalink) Old 12-28-2007, 11:52 AM
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
These are what I am talking about.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FRONT ACTUATOR.JPG
Views:	8633
Size:	53.2 KB
ID:	14791   Click image for larger version

Name:	REAR ACTUATOR.JPG
Views:	8879
Size:	62.5 KB
ID:	14792  
Almost Stock TSi is offline  
 
post #19 of 795 (permalink) Old 12-31-2007, 05:16 AM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
yeah that's what i was talking about too....those valves work with the stock vacuum lines on top of the turbos to regulate the wastegates. I have completely removed them and just wired the gates open so the exhaust is flowing without any restrictions. In other words the objects you are pointing to...are no longer there on my engine. On a positive note, considering how cramped the space is on the motor, any thing you can get rid of is a blessing

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
post #20 of 795 (permalink) Old 12-31-2007, 08:25 AM
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
So what are you using to regulate boost?
Almost Stock TSi is offline  
post #21 of 795 (permalink) Old 12-31-2007, 09:05 AM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
no boost controller as of yet, but I will be adding one soon

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
post #22 of 795 (permalink) Old 12-31-2007, 09:58 AM
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
What kind of boost levels are you seeing with the wastegates wired open?
Almost Stock TSi is offline  
post #23 of 795 (permalink) Old 12-31-2007, 10:02 AM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
right now im having a o2 sensor problem so i haven't seen full boost yet, but i do know that at 3K i have 5.5psi

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
post #24 of 795 (permalink) Old 01-02-2008, 09:30 AM
Altruist
 
IS_BoostByPsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincy, Ohio
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Did you still run your coolant lines from the upper radiator hose to the turbos? Or did you run them souly on the oil feed lines?

How many o2' ports does the gte have? We have like 3 right? How many ports will we have to create on the dp or w/e?

o2' Black Onyx IS300 - Back to stock :( for now.
IS_BoostByPsi is offline  
post #25 of 795 (permalink) Old 01-02-2008, 10:31 AM
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by IS_BoostByPsi View Post
Did you still run your coolant lines from the upper radiator hose to the turbos? Or did you run them souly on the oil feed lines?

How many o2' ports does the gte have? We have like 3 right? How many ports will we have to create on the dp or w/e?

I only have one o2 sensor/port on mine.
Almost Stock TSi is offline  
post #26 of 795 (permalink) Old 01-02-2008, 01:40 PM
Fiend
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: DE
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Nice writeup but I still don't understand why you would remove the wastegate actuators and wire the gates open...

If you want to eliminate the turbos coming on sequentially, can't you just use a T on the actuator vacuum lines and attach them to the same source so they both come into boost at the same time with a boost controller? Or are the stock actuators set at different boost levels?

Wiring the gates open will cause the turbos to spin to ungodly speeds to reach desired boost levels instead of spooling up to the desired boost and letting the gates relieve exhaust pressure to control boost pressure.

Nate

Formerly 01' Onyx IS300 - Custom modified intake, HKS Drager II, Tokico Illuminas, Swift springs, TSW Trackstar 5 with Hankook Ventus V12 tires.
NateIS300 is offline  
post #27 of 795 (permalink) Old 01-02-2008, 07:39 PM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
I ran mine on the oil lines alone.

As for the wastegates, from what I understand that is one of the TTC mod methods that the supra guys use. I got it on MKIV.com As for overboost, I believe a boost controller will remedy that....again correct me if I am wrong guys. Cuz if I am, I'm gonna have a GREAT time pulling that motor again...

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
post #28 of 795 (permalink) Old 01-02-2008, 08:36 PM
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingzero View Post
I ran mine on the oil lines alone.

As for the wastegates, from what I understand that is one of the TTC mod methods that the supra guys use. I got it on MKIV.com As for overboost, I believe a boost controller will remedy that....again correct me if I am wrong guys. Cuz if I am, I'm gonna have a GREAT time pulling that motor again...

To properly control boost you will have to put those 2 actuators back on. Those aren't the exhaust valve you remove for the TTC. You have to remove the exhaust valve on the bottom of the exhaust setup below the o2 sensor location. I had to take mine to a machine shop to have it removed.
Almost Stock TSi is offline  
post #29 of 795 (permalink) Old 01-02-2008, 08:39 PM
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by NateIS300 View Post
. . . Wiring the gates open will cause the turbos to spin to ungodly speeds to reach desired boost levels instead of spooling up to the desired boost and letting the gates relieve exhaust pressure to control boost pressure.

Nate
Wiring the waste gate flappers open will not cause the turbos to spin faster to reach the same boost levels. It will just take them much much longer to reach their operational rpm. Now if there was a giant intake leak that would cause the turbos to spin a lot faster to make the same boost level.
Almost Stock TSi is offline  
post #30 of 795 (permalink) Old 01-03-2008, 05:11 AM Thread Starter
Altruist
 
wingzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
           
MKIV.COM

That is where I got the information. However instead of keeping the actuators on, I simply removed them since after you wire the gates open, they aren't doing a damn thing. On top of that, the stock vacuum lines are not being use on my motor.

01 MSM E-Shift ZGMF-X10A Freedom
- Full OEM Aristo 2JZ-GTE conversion :)

Looking to do an Aristo swap?
Aristo Swap with IS ECU
Aristo Swap with Aristo ECU
wingzero is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Lexus IS Forum > 1st-Gen IS300 > Go Faster

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lexus IS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. If your address is invalid, you will likely lose access to the site.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Current users viewing this Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome